Mari Ann Callais

MAC_webgraphic12

Of all of the speakers I saw this year, Dr. Mari Ann Callais was by far the most inspiration one. I was lucky enough to see her this April at the Dunham Women of Character Institute. Dr. Mari Ann Callais is funny, inspiring and extremely down to Earth. She started off her session by pulling out a guitar and getting the group to sing along with her. I believe by breaking down the awkwardness of a new group right from the beginning she was able to capture our attention better.

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 10.29.43 AM

My main take aways were:

  • I am woman
  • Hear me roar
  • Stop commercializing being in a sorority and actually be one
  • Anyone can put my letters on, only the elite can wear my badge
  • Take charge and do big things

She inspired me to think about what I’m doing in my sorority. Am I trying to portray what Pintrest has made of sororities or am I being me? She also inspired me to start reading my ritual and learning it fully through.

 

Leave a Reply

